News and Resources

The 2012 Viacom Scholarship Awards

Wednesday, June 13, 2012
On June 13, UNH held its annual award ceremony at Viacom's Paramount Theater to honor the recipients of the Viacom Scholarship (formerly the Allan Morrow Scholarship). Each year, this award is granted to outstanding high school seniors who have demonstrated a strong commitment to promoting positive social change and tolerance in their communities. Speaking to the students at this event were UNH Executive Director Nancy Wackstein, MTV Networks Senior Director of Special Events Gary Pagano, and EVP and Chief Financial Officer of Viacom, and UNH Board Member, James Barge. UNH would like to thanks Viacom for hosting the ceremony and the Viacom employees who served on the selection commitee: Andi Blady, Hector Cardenas, Stephen Kipp, Lorna Montalvo, and Gary Pagano. 

This year's Viacom Scholarship recipients are Caribel Colon of Queens Community House, Sasha Davila of The Educational Alliance, Juan Gabriel DeJesus of Sunnyside Community Center, Devontae Gonzalez of SCAN New York, Vernon Lawson of Cypress Hills Local Development Corporation, Jordon Owens-Hall of Hudson Guild, Justin Richmond of East Side House Settlement, Luisanna Sosa of New Settlement Apartments, and Afroza Sultana of United Community Centers. To learn more about these exceptional students, check out UNH's Friday Scholar Spotlight Series on our Facebook page from June 22 - August 17, 2012.